STAFF LEADERSHIP

Mari Pérez-Dowling

President and CEO
(661) 834-1980
Email: mari.p@uwkern.org

Mari joined United Way of Kern County October 2017 as Director of Marketing and Development.  She was then promoted to Interim President & CEO in April of 2018, and as of November of last year she’s the permanent President and CEO of the organization. 

Susana Espinoza

Financial Stability Manager
(661) 834-2962
Email: susana.e@uwkern.org

Susana joined United Way of Kern County in January of 2011. She is the Community Impact Coordinator for the Kern VITA program as program manager in coordination with the Site Coordinators. She conducts VITA site quality review; tax return quality review processes; coordinates site coordinator training with IRS SPEC office; maintains grant funding records; develops community relationships and partnerships for volunteer recruitment, volunteer training and outreach; and Susana analyzes project data and conducts formative and summative program evaluations.

Donald Harris

Director of IT & Creative Services
(661) 834-1870
Email: don.h@uwkern.org

Don joined United Way of Kern County in 1986.  As Director of IT his responsibilities include installing, programming and maintaining our internal network of servers and computers.  He is also responsible for programming and maintaining our campaign and financial databases insuring data integrity, provides leadership with internal processes and reporting of pledge and payment information.

Mary Almaraz

Controller
(661) 834-1820 Main Office
Email: mary.a@uwkern.org

Mary has been with United Way since June of 2007. She is responsible for carrying out all financial and accounting programs and procedures; safeguarding United Way’s financial resources; ensuring maintenance of adequate systems of internal accounting controls; ensuring adherence to United Way’s financial policies; producing internal and external financial reports; and providing assistance to other departments with respect to various financial issues.

Rachel Hoetker

Education Manager/Emergency Food & Shelter Administrator
(661) 834-1489
Email: rachel.h@uwkern.org

Rachel joined United Way of Kern County in 2010. She manages all the early childhood literacy programs. She coordinates efforts among partners, stakeholders, and volunteers with an emphasis on building parents’ capacity to play the role of their child’s first teacher, making books available in the home, encouraging use of the library, and developing a love of reading. She also administers the Emergency Food and Shelter Program for the local board that distributes monies to various agencies to alleviate hunger and homelessness in Kern County.

Jessica Janssen

Homelessness Projects Manager
(661) 834-1580
Email: jessica.j@uwkern.org

Jessica joined United Way of Kern County in March of 2017. United Way is the Collaborative Applicant and Fiscal Agent for the Kern County Homeless Collaborative. Jessica’s duties include coordinating funding opportunities for homeless services, helping to coordinate the efforts of the Kern County Homeless Collaborative and being an advocate for those experiencing homelessness.

Jackie Guerra

VITA program Coordinator/ Fundraising Assistant
(661) 834-1053
Email: jackie.g@uwkern.org

Amelia Dias

Administrative Assistant and Data Entry
(661) 834-2275
Email: amelia.d@uwkern.org

Annelisa Perez

VITA Program Assistant
(661) 8346-5451
Email: annelisa.p@uwkern.org

Monica Chambers

Grant Management
(661) 834-1820 Main Office
Email: monica.c@uwkern.org

Andy Miskiewicz

Homelessness ReGIVE Project
(661) 847-9068
Email: andy.m@uwkern.org

Andy joined United Way in December of 2017.  He runs our Homelessness ReGIVE Project, which provides household items to families and individuals transitioning out of homelessness.

Valerie Rodriguez

M.A.O.F. Internship
Administrative Assistant
(661) 834-2734
Email: valerie.r@uwkern.org

(661) 834-1820 Main Number
(661) 834-2952 Fax
5405 Stockdale Hwy., Suite 200
Bakersfield, CA 93309
info@uwkern.org

United Way Worldwide
Members of the:
Kern County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
The Greater Bakersfield Chamber of Commerce
Kern County Black Chamber of Commerce