United Way

Governing Board of Directors

As of 07/20/2020

*Javier Lozano, Chair 2019-2021


*Nicolette Cross, Past Chair 2019-2021

Certified Public Accountant
O’Dell Cross, Professional Corporation
5001 California Avenue, Suite 212
Bakersfield, CA 93309

Matthew Rogers, Vice Chair 2020-2022

UPS Stockdale Operations
3800 Sillect Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93308

Jordan Kaufman, Treasurer 2020-2022

Treasurer and Tax Collector County of Kern
1115 Truxtun Avenue, 2nd Floor
Bakersfield, CA 93301

Emily Duran, Secretary 2018-2020

Chief Network Administration Officer
Kern Health Systems
2900 Buck Owens Blvd.
Bakersfield, CA 93308

*Shirley Gordon 2019-2021


Debra Watkins 2020-2022

Alert Disaster Restoration
PO Box 20729
Bakersfield, CA 93309-0729

Sam Sikola 2019-2021


*Dr. Vernon Harper 2019-2021

Provost/VP for Academic Affairs
California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway, Admin 100
Bakersfield, CA 93311

*Dr. Timothy Fulenwider 2019-2021

Director of Instructional Support Services Division
1300 Baker Street
Bakersfield, CA 93305

Daisy Diaz 2020-2022

Branch Manager
Beneficial State Bank
Pacheco Rd. Ste. A
Bakersfield CA 93313

Morgan Topper 2020-2022

Chief Operating Officer
Dignity Health, Mercy Hospital Downtown, Mercy Hospital Southwest
2215 Truxtun Ave
Bakersfield, CA 93301

United Way Staff:

Mari Pérez-Dowling

President and CEO
United Way of Kern County
(Staff Bio's)

* Represents Past Chairs

Our Focus

Early Childhood Literacy

Financial Stability

Homelessness and Hunger

We are all part of this community and together we can make it succeed. At United Way of Kern County we believe that UNITED we can make change happen... one day at a time.
Sign up for our newsletter