United Way

Governing Board of Directors

As of 11/2022

*Javier Lozano, Past Chair 2021-2023

∞ Honorary Life Time Member ∞

Matthew Rogers, Chair 2021-2023

UPS Bakersfield
3800 N. Sillect Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93308

Emily Duran, Vice-Chair 2022-2023

Chief Executive Officer
Kern Health Systems
2900 Buck Owens Blvd.
Bakersfield, CA 93308

*Jordan Kaufman, Treasurer 2020-2023

Treasurer and Tax Collector
County of Kern
1115 Truxtun Avenue, 2nd Floor
Bakersfield, CA 93301

Jaron Cramer, Secretary 2021-2023

Executive Director
Tejon Ranch Conservancy
637 San Emidio Way
Frazier Park, CA 93225

Morgan Topper, 2021-2023

Chief Operating Officer
Dignity Health, Mercy Hospital Downtown, Mercy Hospital Southwest
2215 Truxtun Ave
Bakersfield, CA 93301

Dr. Vernon Harper 2021-2023

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs
California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway, Admin 100
Bakersfield, CA 93311

Dr. Timothy Fulenwider 2021-2023

Director of Instructional Support Services Division
Bakersfield City School District
1300 Baker Street
Bakersfield, CA 93305

Jessica Grimes 2021-2023

Regional Chair/Dean of Economic and Workforce Development
Kern Community College District
2100 Chester Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93301

Ana Montenegro 2021-2023

Director of Operations
California Resources Corporation
900 Old River Rd. Bakersfield, CA 93311

Adrian Nevarez 2021-2023

Human Resource Director
Tasteful Selections
6001 Snow Road
Bakersfield, CA 93307

Sandeep Singh Malhi 2022-2024

Peace Officer & Detective
Bakersfield Police Department
1601 Truxtun Ave
Bakersfield, CA 93301

United Way Staff:

Mari Pérez-Dowling

President and CEO
United Way of Kern County
(Staff Bio's)

* Represents Past Chairs

Our Focus

Early Childhood Literacy

Financial Stability


We are all part of this community and together we can make it succeed. At United Way of Kern County we believe that UNITED we can make change happen... one day at a time.